Jarosław Grzędowicz
Jarosław Grzędowicz
Na belce pod sufitem siedzi ogromny, czarny ptak podobny do kruka i błyska na mnie białą powieką na czarnym jak agat oku.
– Nazywasz się Nevermore – mówię mu. – I zostajesz ze mną.
– Nevermore! – Kracze. Nigdy już!
– Nareszcie to powiedziałeś. – Przytakuję z satysfakcją.
Big, black bird similar to a raven is sitting on a girder under the ceiling and blinking with white eyelid covering eye black as agate.
– Your name is Nevermore. – I said to him. – And you stay with me.
– Nevermore! – He cawed. Never more!
– Finally you said that. – I nodd with satisfaction.
Vuco Drakkainen names his raven,
"Lord of the Ice Garden"

Jarosław Grzędowicz

Jarosław Grzędowicz was born on May 3rd, 1965 in Wrocław, Poland. When he was 17 years old he debuted with short story “Azyl dla starych pilotów” published in “Odgłosy” magazine. Since then he wrote few other stories and participated in creating and promoting of Polish fantastic literature. His writing carier flourished in 2003 when his short stories collection titled “Księga jesiennych demonów” was published. Two years later the first volume of his monumental and brilliant novel “Pan Lodowego Ogrodu” reached daylight and was honoured with many prestigious prizes.


Jarosław Grzędowicz’s stories are pure pleasure to read not only for fantasy and science-fiction fans. His books are written in beautiful language and are full of unique and interesting alternative worlds, creative interpretation of myths and culture, exciting plot twists and last but not least fantastic sense of humor.

The Lord
of the Ice Garden
volume 1
Pan Lodowego Ogrodu volume 1 book cover
The Lord
of the Ice Garden
volume 2
Pan Lodowego Ogrodu volume 2 book cover
The Lord
of the Ice Garden
volume 3
Pan Lodowego Ogrodu volume 3 book cover
The Lord of
the Ice Garden
volume 4
Pan Lodowego Ogrodu volume 4 book cover
List of novels and anthologies written by Jarosław Grzędowicz
Date of publish Content Original title English translation
2003 Short stories "Księga jesiennych demonów" "The book of fall daemons"
2005 Novel "Pan Lodowego ogrodu" tom 1 "The Lord of the Ice Garden" volume 1
2006 Novel "Popiół i kurz. Opowieści ze świata pomiędzy" "Ash and dust. The story from the in beetween world"
2007 Novel "Pan Lodowego ogrodu" tom 2 "The Lord of the Ice Garden" volume 2
2008 Short stories "Wypychacz zwierząt" "Taxidermist"
2009 Novel "Pan Lodowego ogrodu" tom 3 "The Lord of the Ice Garden" volume 3
2012 Novel "Pan Lodowego ogrodu" tom 4 "The Lord of the Ice Garden" volume 4
2017 Novel "Hel-3"
2018 Short stories "Azyl" "Asylum"


His most famous novel “Pan Lodowego Ogrodu” has been honoured with many prizes.


Jarosław Grzędowicz
Goodreads profile